Small Country Life vs. City Life

I wrote this a few days before I went to SC to visit my family in June.

Small country vs the rest of the world

I’m not sure if it is my pending trip to SC or the recent calls with my sister and friends in the south. But I keep thinking about how life was when I lived with my parents. Walking around the neighborhood. Going shopping. Taking late night drives to clear my mind. Finding solitude in silence and comfort in knowing that there is always someone friendly close by.
The city isn’t like that. Atlanta was a bit similar but as I continued to move up the Eastern Coast the silence slowly diminished. The noise can be overwhelming at times. But that is what trips to the country are for. Trips home.
There is something wonderful about being from a small town.  Although my experience was nothing like the movies. 
Leave a Reply

