Clean House Progress!

Here is a mini update as to what is going on right now.  I have a bunch of small to do’s and then I have those basic to do’s that never seem to go away.  Like, do the dishes, swiffer the apartment, clean the bathroom, etc etc.  I think once things start finding their place, it’ll be easier to get into routine of just basic clean up.  But for now it’s all a pain!

I do however love seeing progress!  The kitchen table is less crowded, the coffee table is ALMOST clear and most of my clothes have a home.

I did buy a hanging shelf for my entrance way close to hold my dresses, but once I finished putting everything in it buckled and bent the top board.  I’m not loving it so much.  So for now, that is a temporary solution that will need to be addressed in the solution.

I’ve decided to hold off on some key items until after I decide to move or not.  My lease ends at the end of November and if I am going to move, I’d rather just buy “new” stuff for when I get to the next place.  I’m trying to make use of what I already have.  This way when moving time does come, I may have less stuff to worry about!

Unfortunately, I dont’ think my dresser will survive a move so I know that is once piece that will have to go. 😦

Here are some pictures of each room area as it is now:

If you’ve seen the original videos than you’ll notice I’ve changed a good amount of stuff around.  I’ll break it down section by section another day.  For now, here is an updated list.

Entry/Hallway

  • Wipe door
  • Fix peep hole
  • Hang up art on wall across from the closet
  • Clear out shoes/bags/boxes
  • Clean entrance floor matt

Entry Closet

  • Go through dresses/coats/skirts (donate items I don’t wear)
  • Purchase hanging shelf to save closet space
  • Remove boxes from the shelves above
  • Organize boxes and items in boxes (throw out unnecessary items)
  • Purchase bins for the the towels in the linen closet
  • Purchase bed linens storage (must find options)

Sleeping Area

  • Buy a lamp shade
  • Paint desk lamp
  • Purchase a frame for the bed
  • Purchase new pillows

Dining Table/Computer Desk

  • Sell computer desk by September. — still trying to sell!
  • If the desk doesn’t sell, I will take apart the dining table and store against the wall in the kitchen.
  • I’ll remove the hutch from the desk and convert the desk into a dining table.
  • Paint top of the desk if it becomes a dining table.
  • I have a bunch of tools all over the desk – buy toolbox

Coffee Table/Chest

  • I want to clear off the top of this once and for all.
  • Decide if I want to paint it or not.
  • Make sure I’m using the space inside efficiently!

Side Wall (where the dresser current lives)

  • Once the Desk moves – the dresser will move to that spot
  • Clear off dresser top and organize all make up
  • Install shelf to hold items
  • Find new dresser to hold clothes
  • Purchase a coat rack to go where the dresser currently is
  • Hang up art work (have to figure out what is going to go here)
  • Hang up Key Hanger (have to find one first)

Bathroom

  • Find crates to hang above the toilet to store items
  • Organize under the sink

Kitchen

  • Get rid of bookshelf.
  • Find a new storage solution w/ Doors to store canned goods, recipe books, and clear counter tops.
  • Hang up art work. I did this but then the frame fell and broke as I had  placed it but not officially hung it.  *sigh* — gotta start all over.
  • Organize cabinets better.
  • Re-use empty wine bottles (lots of DIY potential)

There are a bunch of small item things I need to do, but I’m not sure where they will live once I’m done.  As with everything in life, it’s a work in progress.

Leave a Reply

