Clean House Update

I’ve been really busy since I posted about how messy my apartment was.

It was great because I had PK watch the video and my two favorite quotes are:  “Wow you’re place is a mess” and “You’re going to post an update soon, right?”

I found it endearing and sweet hahaha.

Anyhow, I’ve made lots of progress but there is still so much to do.  One thing I realized is that most people have a room to “hide” things that still need work or need their attention.  Living in a studio apartment, I don’t have that luxury.  So if items are pending, they are in full view until dealt with!  Realizing this was definitely a hard pill to swallow.

Here are some video updates of how things look after my initial run through:

You’ll notice some things seem cleaner, while others seem messier.  I’ve gotten rid of a few boxes by consolidating items.  I’ve also thrown out a lot of papers and just random stuff I seem to be collecting.  I’ve organized 3/4’s of one of my closets.  The other closet still needs a lot of work but I have items coming in from Amazon to help me get started.

I still have “piles” of stuff to deal with it.  But now they are a bit more organized.  Some require me to call and close up pending items, others require purchases to help me organize/store them better.

It’s definitely a work in progress.

To help me (and you) keep track of what’s going on.  I’ve made a list of all the things I would like to address based on “sections” of the apartment.

Entry/Hallway

  • Wipe door
  • Fix peep hole
  • Hang up art on wall across from the closet
  • Clear out shoes/bags/boxes
  • Clean entrance floor matt

Entry Closet

  • Go through dresses/coats/skirts (donate items I don’t wear)
  • Purchase hanging shelf to save closet space
  • Remove boxes from the shelves above
  • Organize boxes and items in boxes (throw out unnecessary items)

Sleeping Area

  • Buy a lamp shade
  • Purchase a frame for the bed
  • Purchase new pillows

Dining Table/Computer Desk

  • Sell computer desk by September.
  • If the desk doesn’t sell, I will take apart the dining table and store against the wall in the kitchen.
  • I’ll remove the hutch from the desk and convert the desk into a dining table.
  • Paint top of the desk if it becomes a dining table.

Coffee Table/Chest

  • I want to clear off the top of this once and for all.
  • Decide if I want to paint it or not.

Side Wall (where the dresser current lives)

  • Once the Desk moves – the dresser will move to that spot
  • Clear off dresser top and organize all make up
  • Install shelf to hold items
  • Find new dresser to hold clothes
  • Purchase a coat rack to go where the dresser currently is
  • Hang up art work
  • Hang up Key Hanger

Bathroom

  • Find crates to hang above the toilet to store items

Kitchen

  • Get rid of bookshelf.
  • Find a new storage solution w/ Doors to store canned goods, recipe books, and clear counter tops.
  • Hang up art work.
  • Organize cabinets better.
  • Re-use empty wine bottles (lots of DIY potential)

There are a bunch of small item things I need to do, but I’m not sure where they will live once I’m done.  As with everything in life, it’s a work in progress.

One response to “Clean House Update

  1. Pingback: Clean House Progress! | There's No Such Thing as the Real World

Leave a Reply

