Oh my, how far we’ve come…

I can’t believe it’s already November 2011.  I personally can’t wait for 11/11/11!  I’m definitely one of those individuals who tries to make a wish every time the clock strikes 11:11 am/pm.

November 2nd 2009 was my first day in Maryland.  I called up a Mr. Coleman – now known as Joey and got an interview (woot!).  If I remember correctly – November 9th was my first day on the job at Design Symphony.

Life hasn’t been the same since.  I haven’t been the same since.  So much has happen, so much has changed, I’ve changed.  What is funny is I feel like at that time I was just getting used to the person I was, but then everything shifted and here I am trying to figure out who I am all over again.  Honestly, I don’t think it matters what is going on in life – we’re always on that path of trying to figure out who we are and what we’re meant to do.

November 2010 I had the realization that I need to move to New York.  Probably the 3rd most scary decision I can remember making in my life.  The 1st was moving away for college (granted I was more excited than scared), 2nd moving to DC.  I put in notice towards the end of the month (I think it was) and by January 31st, 2011 I was packed and on my way.

I miss working with Joey, and I miss being a part of Design Symphony and Affinity Lab.  I miss the friends I made in DC as well as the ones I left behind in Atlanta.  I don’t know what I was thinking when I decided to move to NY.

Don’t get me wrong, I don’t regret the decision – I just can’t fathom as to why I would want to start all over again.  I haven’t been able to find an apartment and I haven’t made many of my “own” friends – but I’ve met a lot of amazing people.  There is one individual in particular who is beyond amazing – but I’ll leave it at that.

Settling down here is hard just like it was in DC but for different reasons.  A part of me feels like I did run away from DC and the other part feels like I conquered and moved on.  New York makes me feel like a 13 year old who is learning everything she once believed about the world is wrong.  It’s infuriating.

Every time I trip in life, I’ve been able to get up (even if it took some time) eventually — I get back up.  I just have to remind myself of how far I’ve come.

Lonely girl in SC with no friends – to a young lady (saying woman sounds weird) who has friends up and down the East Coast.  Life is good.  I can’t complain and even though I  want to, I shouldn’t.

Leave a Reply

