Messenger vs. Soldier

So we (me and my special someone) went to watch Transformers 3 last night and besides the awesome cars and geeky cute Shia Labeouf there were a few things that really stood out to me.  I don’t believe what I’m about to say will ruin the movie for you, but if you’re unsure – don’t read this until after you’ve seen it.

In the movie Sam struggles to find a job that means something, and once he’s offered a job in a mail room he expresses his need for a position that gives him purpose.  He finds it really hard to adjust from saving the world and doing something that had great purpose to just delivering the mail.

I can argue that delivering mail is very important and what that purpose would be in the grand scheme of things, but come on, no one wants to deliver mail.

Anyways, the main point is that I can relate to this.  I felt like at my previous position I did so much good, I benefited the world in some how.  I’m not saying I saved lives or cured cancer.  But with the amount of socially responsible businesses I was working with and around I couldn’t help but feel connected to it all.

I don’t have any autobots to call on and I know having it all isn’t easy (and for the record I never said it was) I just know that after watching that, I’ll definitely be working harder towards my end goal.

One of the realities of the situation is that I don’t have all the experience I need.  I could definitely learn as I go as most entrepreneurs my age do, but I don’t have some of the securities they do.

I turn 24 this year – it’s time to set year(s) long goals.  More intense, more detailed, and with more steps.  None of it will be concrete, and at times it will get hard but it’ll be a road map, a guide to help me get to my desired destination.

As of right now – the plan is to have more skills, more experience, and more clarity of myself by 26 to make the big shift.

shit, im scared, this is exciting 🙂

2 responses to “Messenger vs. Soldier

  1. don’t be scared, dear, it’s a big world out there and yours for the absolute taking! That movie spoke to me as well and it was when he said “I want to matter.” Sure, we matter to people who love us, friends, family, GF, etc. But when one thrives to matter to the world, the community and maybe, just maybe the society he is part of – it speaks at a much higher volume. I think you’ve got a pretty good head on your shoulders and would just like to say that you should learn from the past, live in the present and build for the future. Stay connected on your path to gaining more experience, more skills and envisioning yourself becomes clearer and clearer as time goes by. Good luck!

  2. My first position of serious professional responsibility was the mail room at a presidential campaign. Other “kids” (the core of most campaigns: 21-25 years old) wanted to carry the candidate’s luggage. I got actual responsibility. The people in charge got to see me manage that actual responsibility, and within a few months I had a position of fairly major responsibility on the campaign, and was managing those (often older than I was) who had wanted the glamour posts.

Leave a Reply

